Get the URL of the current (active) browser tab

Post your working scripts, libraries and tools
User avatar
atnbueno
Posts: 85
Joined: 12 Oct 2013, 04:45

Re: Get the URL of the current (active) browser tab

04 Jan 2018, 12:05

Ouch :wtf:

I'm looking into it. The URL is still there, and it's accessible via ACC, so it looks promising :think:

Big thanks to Kudos for the heads up :thumbup:


Regards,
Antonio
User avatar
JnLlnd
Posts: 248
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 21:29
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Re: Get the URL of the current (active) browser tab

04 Jan 2018, 12:26

Good news! Thanks atnbueno.
Author of freeware apps Quick Access Popup (http://www.quickaccesspopup.com),
FoldersPopup and CSV Buddy (http://code.jeanlalonde.ca)
SOTE
Posts: 75
Joined: 15 Jun 2015, 06:21

Re: Get the URL of the current (active) browser tab

05 Jan 2018, 21:13

atnbueno wrote:Ouch :wtf:

I'm looking into it. The URL is still there, and it's accessible via ACC, so it looks promising :think:

Big thanks to Kudos for the heads up :thumbup:


Regards,
Antonio


Could this script be modified to get the Status Bar information (or whatever it's called now) at the bottom left of most browsers?
User avatar
atnbueno
Posts: 85
Joined: 12 Oct 2013, 04:45

Re: Get the URL of the current (active) browser tab

06 Jan 2018, 03:28

No, sorry. The status bar is not available via the API this script is based on.

BUT it's trivial to access it via JavaScript: https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/doc ... dow/status
JasonDavisFL
Posts: 7
Joined: 12 Jan 2018, 13:05
Facebook: JasonDavis83
GitHub: JasonDavisFL

Re: Get the URL of the current (active) browser tab

17 Jan 2018, 12:44

Is there a way to get a list of all browser tabs open in chrome?
DigiDon
Posts: 115
Joined: 19 May 2014, 04:55

Re: Get the URL of the current (active) browser tab

06 Feb 2018, 10:27

Hello all,

I was using this great script in one of my program and have been informed that it had some problems in Firefox.

Atnbueno, did you make progress on the fix? Any hint ?

JnLlnd or Jeeswg : any new info on the bug?

Thanks! ;)

EDIT : I have just tested JnLlnd's script in previous page and the URL in Firefox 58 seem to work well (I have tried 5/6 urls).
So does someone still have a problem? Can we have a URL example of where it was failing?
Knowledge is knowing a tomato is a fruit; wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad. (Miles Kington)
User avatar
JnLlnd
Posts: 248
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 21:29
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Re: Get the URL of the current (active) browser tab

07 Feb 2018, 08:59

DigiDon wrote:I have just tested JnLlnd's script in previous page and the URL in Firefox 58 seem to work well (I have tried 5/6 urls).
So does someone still have a problem? Can we have a URL example of where it was failing?

I retested it with 57.0.4 and upgraded to 58.0.1 today and found no URL not working with both versions. This is kind of good news :-)
Author of freeware apps Quick Access Popup (http://www.quickaccesspopup.com),
FoldersPopup and CSV Buddy (http://code.jeanlalonde.ca)
DigiDon
Posts: 115
Joined: 19 May 2014, 04:55

Re: Get the URL of the current (active) browser tab

07 Feb 2018, 09:01

cool ! :D
So maybe a glitch on Firefox side ! eheh
Knowledge is knowing a tomato is a fruit; wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad. (Miles Kington)
JoeSchmoe
Posts: 32
Joined: 08 Dec 2014, 08:58

Re: Get the URL of the current (active) browser tab

09 Feb 2018, 12:55

Thanks for continuing to maintain, ATNBueno. You're the best. :)
iHaveDepression
Posts: 1
Joined: 18 Feb 2018, 01:43

Re: Get the URL of the current (active) browser tab

18 Feb 2018, 02:20

how exactly can I use this script?

Return to “Scripts and Functions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests