mDesktop - Multiple Virtual Desktops

Post your working scripts, libraries and tools for AHK v1.1 and older
octalmage
Posts: 1
Joined: 23 Jun 2014, 04:57

mDesktop - Multiple Virtual Desktops

06 Sep 2014, 21:03

Hey Guys!

For a while now I've been maintaining mDesktop and I realized I've never shared it on the forums, so here it is!

https://github.com/octalmage/mdesktop

Check it out and let me know what you think. I recently moved the project to GitHub to help encourage collaboration (over 300 stars on Google Code!). I'm using mostly Mac these days and It's been difficult to work on it. I'd probably cry if we ever got AutoHotkey on OS X!
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 8949
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: mDesktop - Multiple Virtual Desktops

06 Sep 2014, 21:09

Cool! Starred! ;)
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB, 2x16GB Kingston FURY Beast - DDR4 3200 MHz | [About Me] | [About the AHK Foundation] | [Courses on AutoHotkey]
[ASPDM - StdLib Distribution] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library]
Coco
Posts: 771
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 20:37
Contact:

Re: mDesktop - Multiple Virtual Desktops

06 Sep 2014, 21:58

+Cool! Clean source code. Thanks!
User avatar
jNizM
Posts: 3183
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 01:33
Contact:

Re: mDesktop - Multiple Virtual Desktops

08 Sep 2014, 01:52

Here is a faster dec2hex() function:

Code: Select all

dec2hex(n)
{
    static u := A_IsUnicode ? "_wcstoui64" : "_strtoui64", v := A_IsUnicode ? "_i64tow" : "_i64toa"
    VarSetCapacity(s, 66, 0)
    value := DllCall("msvcrt.dll\" u, "Str", n, "UInt", 0, "UInt", 10, "CDECL Int64")
    DllCall("msvcrt.dll\" v, "Int64", value, "Str", s, "UInt", 16, "CDECL")
    return "0x" s
}

MsgBox % dec2hex(10)
For more functions see: Convert Base
[AHK] v2.0.5 | [WIN] 11 Pro (Version 22H2) | [GitHub] Profile
Skrell
Posts: 302
Joined: 23 Jan 2014, 12:05

Re: mDesktop - Multiple Virtual Desktops

08 Sep 2014, 08:42

This looks VERY impressive so far! My only suggestion would be to add a way to send windows to other desktops just using the mouse. If you could that i think it'd be perfect! :)
User avatar
empardopo
Posts: 336
Joined: 06 Oct 2013, 12:50
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: mDesktop - Multiple Virtual Desktops

10 Sep 2014, 03:04

Impossible to use in W7 64. I get the next error
Attachments
ErrormDesktop.png
Everything is possible!
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 8949
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: mDesktop - Multiple Virtual Desktops

11 Sep 2014, 00:15

What .NET frameworks do you have installed?
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB, 2x16GB Kingston FURY Beast - DDR4 3200 MHz | [About Me] | [About the AHK Foundation] | [Courses on AutoHotkey]
[ASPDM - StdLib Distribution] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library]
User avatar
empardopo
Posts: 336
Joined: 06 Oct 2013, 12:50
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: mDesktop - Multiple Virtual Desktops

11 Sep 2014, 06:20

You can see in the picture.
Thanks!
Attachments
Framework.png
Everything is possible!
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 8949
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: mDesktop - Multiple Virtual Desktops

11 Sep 2014, 06:49

Hmm try installing v4.5 ?
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB, 2x16GB Kingston FURY Beast - DDR4 3200 MHz | [About Me] | [About the AHK Foundation] | [Courses on AutoHotkey]
[ASPDM - StdLib Distribution] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library]
User avatar
empardopo
Posts: 336
Joined: 06 Oct 2013, 12:50
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: mDesktop - Multiple Virtual Desktops

11 Sep 2014, 08:52

I've just installed framework 4.5 and I think I get the same error
Firma con problemas:
Nombre del evento de problema: APPCRASH
Nombre de la aplicación: mDesktop.exe
Versión de la aplicación: 1.1.15.4
Marca de tiempo de la aplicación: 53e971a8
Nombre del módulo con errores: StackHash_e1bf
Versión del módulo con errores: 6.1.7601.17514
Marca de tiempo del módulo con errores: 4ce7ba58
Código de excepción: c0000374
Desplazamiento de excepción: 000ce653
Versión del sistema operativo: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.4
Id. de configuración regional: 3082
Información adicional 1: e1bf
Información adicional 2: e1bfb61ca51097e83404bfbe6f560655
Información adicional 3: 54bc
Información adicional 4: 54bc05298f3a90dd8b456412cc084ee4

Lea nuestra declaración de privacidad en línea:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid= ... cid=0x0c0a

Si la declaración de privacidad en línea no está disponible, lea la declaración de privacidad sin conexión:
C:\Windows\system32\es-ES\erofflps.txt
Everything is possible!
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 8949
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: mDesktop - Multiple Virtual Desktops

16 Sep 2014, 11:44

hmm.... I have no idea then ... :P :(
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB, 2x16GB Kingston FURY Beast - DDR4 3200 MHz | [About Me] | [About the AHK Foundation] | [Courses on AutoHotkey]
[ASPDM - StdLib Distribution] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library]
User avatar
empardopo
Posts: 336
Joined: 06 Oct 2013, 12:50
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: mDesktop - Multiple Virtual Desktops

17 Sep 2014, 01:21

No problem, thanks!
I only wanted to check the program.
Greetings!
Everything is possible!
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 8949
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: mDesktop - Multiple Virtual Desktops

17 Sep 2014, 01:33

Whew ;) alright, that's a relief :)
Regards,
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB, 2x16GB Kingston FURY Beast - DDR4 3200 MHz | [About Me] | [About the AHK Foundation] | [Courses on AutoHotkey]
[ASPDM - StdLib Distribution] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library]
User avatar
submeg
Posts: 326
Joined: 14 Apr 2017, 20:39
Contact:

Re: mDesktop - Multiple Virtual Desktops

10 Feb 2021, 06:29

@joedf, do you know if there's the ahk script anywhere? I've been using this one, but the transferring of applications between desktops doesn't work. Would be keen to see if this one has the functionality.
____________________________________
Check out my site, submeg.com
Connect with me on LinkedIn
Courses on AutoHotkey :ugeek:
gregster
Posts: 8988
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 06:48

Re: mDesktop - Multiple Virtual Desktops

10 Feb 2021, 07:24

@submeg :
The original poster provided a github link in the first post, and also has a dedicated releases page there. I would go for that: https://github.com/octalmage/mDesktop/releases/tag/v1.7.2
The one you linked to is probably unrelated to this topic.
User avatar
submeg
Posts: 326
Joined: 14 Apr 2017, 20:39
Contact:

Re: mDesktop - Multiple Virtual Desktops

11 Feb 2021, 05:40

thanks @gregster, it's there.

Yes the one I use is different (and by other authors), I wanted to check out the ahk to see if it will have the shifting of apps between different desktops working.
____________________________________
Check out my site, submeg.com
Connect with me on LinkedIn
Courses on AutoHotkey :ugeek:
User avatar
hoppfrosch
Posts: 443
Joined: 07 Oct 2013, 04:05
Location: Rhine-Maine-Area, Hesse, Germany
Contact:

Re: mDesktop - Multiple Virtual Desktops

12 Feb 2021, 01:46

User avatar
submeg
Posts: 326
Joined: 14 Apr 2017, 20:39
Contact:

Re: mDesktop - Multiple Virtual Desktops

12 Feb 2021, 02:32

@hoppfrosch, I've not come across that one before, will give it a go, thanks!
____________________________________
Check out my site, submeg.com
Connect with me on LinkedIn
Courses on AutoHotkey :ugeek:
pmobin
Posts: 17
Joined: 14 Apr 2016, 12:50

Re: mDesktop - Multiple Virtual Desktops

30 Mar 2021, 19:58

Hello AHK wizards,

I am trying to get win-10-virtual-desktop-enhancer to work but no luck. I have the 2015 Visual Studio Framework 4.5 installed and running the ahk. All seems good however absolutely nothing happens. I msgboxed the return values from the various dll calls to the accessor dll and they are all 0's. Any ideas? Thanks.
chris_s
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Apr 2021, 00:18

Multiple Virtual Desktops

08 Apr 2021, 09:56

I had pretty much the same result. I think that the scroll wheel worked but it didn't seem to take the back and forward or the num keys to go to a specific window. I dug into the code a bit and made some changes so now all of those functions work and it now changes the background when the desktop changes. It's the first time that I've done anything with AutoHotKey (I have used Autoit but that is a bit different). All the basic parts seemed to be there (and it seems to be pretty good work) but the actual event code didn't seem to do everything that it was supposed to do.

I need to spend some time looking at the other things that it is supposed to be able to do. Once I get a bit further, I may post it here. My working version is now quite an adequate replacement for Dexpot that I used to use but no longer works under Win 10.

Note: I tried MDesktop as well but that didn't seem to work either.

Return to “Scripts and Functions (v1)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 69 guests