[Script] CodeQuickTester - Write and run code without saving to a temporary file

Post your working scripts, libraries and tools
GeekDude
Posts: 816
Joined: 02 Oct 2013, 22:13

Re: [Script] CodeQuickTester - Write and run code without saving to a temporary file

04 Jun 2018, 07:09

StefOnSteroids wrote:Great idea to allow a settings file - so users can keep their custom font sizes, colors etc from version to version.
Would you please provide a sample settings.ini or give a few guidelines what the ini-file must look like?


There are instructions and a template in the original post if this thread, under the additional setup header.
StefOnSteroids
Posts: 35
Joined: 08 Aug 2015, 10:22

Re: [Script] CodeQuickTester - Write and run code without saving to a temporary file

04 Jun 2018, 07:32

GeekDude wrote:There are instructions and a template in the original post if this thread, under the additional setup header.

My bad, I went straight to the Github page to get the new version, without noticing the ini-template.
Many thanks. The settings-file makes things so much easier. :thumbup:
brutus_skywalker
Posts: 177
Joined: 24 Dec 2016, 13:16
Location: Antarctica

Re: [Script] CodeQuickTester - Write and run code without saving to a temporary file

04 Jun 2018, 10:43

StefOnSteroids wrote:Great idea to allow a settings file - so users can keep their custom font sizes, colors etc from version to version.
Would you please provide a sample settings.ini or give a few guidelines what the ini-file must look like?


It's in the OP.

https://github.com/G33kDude/CodeQuickTester/blob/master/Settings.ini
Outsourcing Clicks & Presses Since 2004.
StefOnSteroids
Posts: 35
Joined: 08 Aug 2015, 10:22

Re: [Script] CodeQuickTester - Write and run code without saving to a temporary file

05 Jun 2018, 07:11


Thanks for the direct link. Next time I will more thoroughly peruse available resources. :oops:
brutus_skywalker
Posts: 177
Joined: 24 Dec 2016, 13:16
Location: Antarctica

Re: [Script] CodeQuickTester - Write and run code without saving to a temporary file

07 Jun 2018, 09:52

Hi i dunno if it a can be called a bug, but i was using it for like 8hours straight last night and it seemed the longer i used it the wonkier the auto-completion, and the slower it got overall, i had like 6separate (CodeQuickTester)windows open, and the largest script i had open was no more than a thousand lines. And by wonky i mean there seemed to be somewhat of a lag and often i had to backspace to get auto-completion & highlighting activated.

The only modification i made to the script is to the font size of the status bar: Around Line900

Code: [Select all] [Download] GeSHi © Codebox Plus

		; Add status bar
Gui, font, s14, Courier New Bold
Gui, Add, StatusBar
SB_SetParts(100, 110, 90, 110, 100)
this.UpdateStatusBar()
Outsourcing Clicks & Presses Since 2004.
GeekDude
Posts: 816
Joined: 02 Oct 2013, 22:13

Re: [Script] CodeQuickTester - Write and run code without saving to a temporary file

08 Jun 2018, 09:09

brutus_skywalker wrote:Hi i dunno if it a can be called a bug, but i was using it for like 8hours straight last night and it seemed the longer i used it the wonkier the auto-completion, and the slower it got overall, i had like 6separate (CodeQuickTester)windows open, and the largest script i had open was no more than a thousand lines. And by wonky i mean there seemed to be somewhat of a lag and often i had to backspace to get auto-completion & highlighting activated.

I'm having trouble reproducing the issue. Do you have any idea what might have been causing it? Was it using much more RAM than it typically does?
brutus_skywalker
Posts: 177
Joined: 24 Dec 2016, 13:16
Location: Antarctica

Re: [Script] CodeQuickTester - Write and run code without saving to a temporary file

08 Jun 2018, 19:44

GeekDude wrote:I'm having trouble reproducing the issue. Do you have any idea what might have been causing it? Was it using much more RAM than it typically does?


Somewhat, memory doubles when the open/save dialog is active(receding only when inactive) & there's a similar CPU spike, but fairly consistent RAM usage relative to open size of open script. I'm thinking possibly the problem was that i had too many windows open, though i can't see how it's the cause. But i must re-iterate this issue,was the result of extended use across numerous windows, which makes me suspect script process might somehow have gotten paged or something.
Outsourcing Clicks & Presses Since 2004.
GeekDude
Posts: 816
Joined: 02 Oct 2013, 22:13

Re: [Script] CodeQuickTester - Write and run code without saving to a temporary file

11 Jun 2018, 18:56

brutus_skywalker wrote:Somewhat, memory doubles when the open/save dialog is active(receding only when inactive) & there's a similar CPU spike, but fairly consistent RAM usage relative to open size of open script. I'm thinking possibly the problem was that i had too many windows open, though i can't see how it's the cause. But i must re-iterate this issue,was the result of extended use across numerous windows, which makes me suspect script process might somehow have gotten paged or something.


Multiple instances shouldn't conflict with each other in any way, and that note about memory usage sound completely fine.

I'm stumped as to what could have been causing your issue. Can I blame the antivirus? :lol:
brutus_skywalker
Posts: 177
Joined: 24 Dec 2016, 13:16
Location: Antarctica

Re: [Script] CodeQuickTester - Write and run code without saving to a temporary file

12 Jun 2018, 04:20

GeekDude wrote:]
Multiple instances shouldn't conflict with each other in any way, and that note about memory usage sound completely fine.

I'm stumped as to what could have been causing your issue. Can I blame the antivirus? :lol:


I don't think so,I use Microsoft Security Essentials,pretty solid AV,plays well with everything.

And I've now been running it with v1.1.26.01(x32 Unicode) and no issues. Needless to say I no longer believe it's the script, I think it's something to do the combination of the 1.1.29.01(x32 Unicode) update and my OS(Win 7 x64 ultimate SP1).

I'm gonna hold off on a bug report to lexikos though, given I seem to be the only one whose observed and noted this issue on the forum. Cheers & Thanks for looking into it.
Outsourcing Clicks & Presses Since 2004.

Return to “Scripts and Functions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests