AHK Startup (Consolidate AHK Scripts' Tray Icons)

Post your working scripts, libraries and tools
FanaticGuru
Posts: 534
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 22:25

AHK Startup (Consolidate AHK Scripts' Tray Icons)

27 Nov 2013, 15:18

AHK Startup

This is my startup script that I put a shortcut to run in my startup folder to load my standard scripts on computer bootup.

It basically Runs a list of scripts.
This list can include a folder which will run all files in that folder and subfolders. Wildcards * and ? can also be used.
Relative path can also be used by using .\ at the beginning of a file path. One dot is the folder this script is located in. Each additional dot steps back one folder.
It also looks for a txt file with the same name as the script and includes the files listed there.
It then creates a tooltip that list all the scripts that it started.
It then removes the tray icon of all the scripts it started leaving only the "AHK Startup" tray icon.
When AHK Startup is exited or stopped all the scripts it started will also be exited and stopped.

All the lines between:
(Join,

)]
Are example paths only to show different syntax and formatting of how paths can be done. These lines must be edited to the path and scripts that the user wants AHK Startup to run.

I use this script for startup but it does not necessarily have to be used that way. It is useful any time you want to run several AHK scripts but only have one tray icon and have all the scripts start and stop together.

You lose the functionality of right mouse clicking on a scripts tray icon as the tray icons for the scripts are removed. So there are no individual script tray icons to click on and stop, pause, suspend, edit, etc. a script but I have another one of my scripts always running that gives me a different way to access those abilities other than right clicking a tray icon.

Hotkey Help - Help Dialog for Currently Running AHK Scripts

Update: Added a custom right click menu to the AHK Startup tray icon to allow access to some individual script controls.

Code: [Select all] [Expand] [Download] (AHK Startup.ahk)GeSHi © Codebox Plus


This script uses TrayIcon functions created by others that I have updated to be more functional for my needs. These functions are probably useful for others and the original links to them are broken and the old functions probably would not work even if the links were live as they were written for AutoHotkey Basic.

I #include [Library] TrayIcon.ahk in my script as I use these functions in other scripts but have manually placed the three required function at the end of AutoHotkey Startup above for convenience.

Here is a link to my version of the entire updated TrayIcon Library:

Updated TrayIcon Library

FG
Last edited by FanaticGuru on 14 Apr 2016, 15:37, edited 22 times in total.
Hotkey Help - Help Dialog for Currently Running AHK Scripts

AHK Startup - Consolidate Multiply AHK Scripts with one Tray Icon

Google Search, Dictionary, Thesaurus - Quickly Get Information from Specific Web Resources

[Function] Timer - Create and Manage Timers
User avatar
Chef
Posts: 50
Joined: 14 Nov 2013, 13:01

Re: AutoHotkey Startup (Consolidate AHK Scripts' Tray Icons)

27 Nov 2013, 15:47

Nice FanaticGuru, this is going to be very useful :D
FanaticGuru
Posts: 534
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 22:25

Re: AutoHotkey Startup (Consolidate AHK Scripts' Tray Icons)

10 Dec 2013, 17:00

Updated Script on First Page

Change Log:
Streamlined code by combining TrayIconsOverflow function into TrayIcons function so that one function call gets the information on all the Icons regardless of location.

FG
Hotkey Help - Help Dialog for Currently Running AHK Scripts

AHK Startup - Consolidate Multiply AHK Scripts with one Tray Icon

Google Search, Dictionary, Thesaurus - Quickly Get Information from Specific Web Resources

[Function] Timer - Create and Manage Timers
FanaticGuru
Posts: 534
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 22:25

Re: AutoHotkey Startup (Consolidate AHK Scripts' Tray Icons)

16 Jan 2014, 17:56

Updated Script on First Page

Change Log:
Updated to work with Unicode 64 bit.
Included only the required 3 TrayIcon functions in the script.
Provided Link to entire updated TrayIcon Library.

FG
Hotkey Help - Help Dialog for Currently Running AHK Scripts

AHK Startup - Consolidate Multiply AHK Scripts with one Tray Icon

Google Search, Dictionary, Thesaurus - Quickly Get Information from Specific Web Resources

[Function] Timer - Create and Manage Timers
AHKxx
Posts: 52
Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 01:37

Re: AutoHotkey Startup (Consolidate AHK Scripts' Tray Icons)

13 Mar 2014, 12:34

Thank you for this. Makes life much easier.

I initially was having a problem where this one script was not getting loaded. It turned out to be a problem with the scripts name: explorer paths.ahk. When I changed it to expxlorerpaths.ahk, it worked fine. It wasn't the space. Something about one or both the words was making it not happy. But this did give me an idea for how the script might be improved.

Would it be possible to, instead of having to enter the file names to be loaded into the script directly, have the script look for a specified folder, one level down, and then just load every script it finds? That way you could easily move scripts in and out of that folder, and not have to be concerned with their names. It would function just like the Windows Startup folder does with shortcuts. It would also make it possible to use it as an executable.

Thanks again. This and the Hotkey Help script are both incredibly useful, and compliment each other beautifully.
ozzii
Posts: 277
Joined: 30 Oct 2013, 06:04

Re: AutoHotkey Startup (Consolidate AHK Scripts' Tray Icons)

14 Mar 2014, 07:59

AHKxx wrote:Would it be possible to, instead of having to enter the file names to be loaded into the script directly, have the script look for a specified folder, one level down, and then just load every script it finds? That way you could easily move scripts in and out of that folder, and not have to be concerned with their names. It would function just like the Windows Startup folder does with shortcuts. It would also make it possible to use it as an executable.

This is a great idea..
A sub folder 'Startup' where the scripts/lnk files can be found.
This could be really handful.
Guest10
Posts: 578
Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 02:50

Re: AutoHotkey Startup (Consolidate AHK Scripts' Tray Icons)

14 Mar 2014, 08:42

thanks about to test could you please explain what ~#^!Escape means?
Guest10
Posts: 578
Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 02:50

Re: AutoHotkey Startup (Consolidate AHK Scripts' Tray Icons)

14 Mar 2014, 09:21

what if these scripts are scattered all over are not all centrally placed in script folder? how would you modify the script toward this case?
FanaticGuru
Posts: 534
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 22:25

Re: AutoHotkey Startup (Consolidate AHK Scripts' Tray Icons)

14 Mar 2014, 12:34

Guest10 wrote:thanks about to test could you please explain what ~#^!Escape means?


~#^!Escape Is Crtl+Win+Alt+Escape which will terminate the script. ~ makes it where the keys can activating more than one script at a time.

I put this in all my scripts so that if I push that key combination all my scripts will be terminated. It is kind of a fail safe to terminate all my scripts.

You can leave this line out it has nothing to do with how this script works.

FG
Last edited by FanaticGuru on 14 Mar 2014, 12:57, edited 1 time in total.
Hotkey Help - Help Dialog for Currently Running AHK Scripts

AHK Startup - Consolidate Multiply AHK Scripts with one Tray Icon

Google Search, Dictionary, Thesaurus - Quickly Get Information from Specific Web Resources

[Function] Timer - Create and Manage Timers
FanaticGuru
Posts: 534
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 22:25

Re: AutoHotkey Startup (Consolidate AHK Scripts' Tray Icons)

14 Mar 2014, 12:56

Guest10 wrote:what if these scripts are scattered all over are not all centrally placed in script folder? how would you modify the script toward this case?


You can put the full path instead of just the file name in the appropriate place in the script.
"C:\Users\Guru\Documents\AutoHotkey\My Scripts\Hotstring Helper.ahk"

The only problem with that is then the entire path gets added to the tooltip that is created.

That is pretty easy to fix though.

I am toying with adding an option to look in a folder like suggested and maybe looking in a text file for a list of script names also. The coding part I can do but I am not sure of the logistics of how it should work. I am trying to devise a way to have it so that you would not have to edit the script to define the folder location but that means there has to be some type of ini or additional file that holds these settings which I am not too keen on.

I will play around with it and post a more versatile script.

FG
Hotkey Help - Help Dialog for Currently Running AHK Scripts

AHK Startup - Consolidate Multiply AHK Scripts with one Tray Icon

Google Search, Dictionary, Thesaurus - Quickly Get Information from Specific Web Resources

[Function] Timer - Create and Manage Timers
Guest10
Posts: 578
Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 02:50

Re: AutoHotkey Startup (Consolidate AHK Scripts' Tray Icons)

14 Mar 2014, 21:09

thanks that would be great! :D
FanaticGuru
Posts: 534
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 22:25

Re: AutoHotkey Startup (Consolidate AHK Scripts' Tray Icons)

19 Mar 2014, 12:23

Updated Script on First Page

Change Log (2014-03-19):
Changed the list of files to run to accept full paths as well as folders.
Folders names must end with "\"
Changed the list of files to also accept wildcards * and ?
Script will look for a text file with the same name as the script and use that to get list of file names (ie. Startup - Autohotkey.txt) Do not include "" in the text file.

Code: [Select all] [Download] (Untitled.txt)GeSHi © Codebox Plus

C:\Users\Guru\Documents\AutoHotkey\Startup\
C:\Users\Guru\Documents\AutoHotkey\Compiled Scripts\*.exe

You could probably use stuff like %A_MyDocuments% in the txt but I have not tested it.

The script will combine the files defined in the script and the files in the txt.

If you don't want any files defined in the script just delete all of them like this

Code: [Select all] [Download] (Script.ahk)GeSHi © Codebox Plus

Files := [	; Additional Startup Files and Folders Can Be Added Between the ( Continuations  ) Below
(Join,
)]

You could get rid of the continuation entirely and just use Files := {} but leaving the continuation is good in case you ever want to add any back in the script itself.

FG
Hotkey Help - Help Dialog for Currently Running AHK Scripts

AHK Startup - Consolidate Multiply AHK Scripts with one Tray Icon

Google Search, Dictionary, Thesaurus - Quickly Get Information from Specific Web Resources

[Function] Timer - Create and Manage Timers
Guest10
Posts: 578
Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 02:50

Re: AutoHotkey Startup (Consolidate AHK Scripts' Tray Icons)

19 Mar 2014, 16:24

thanks for the update! :) it goes for my next restart since my computer is running non-stop for weeks... :lol:
Guest10
Posts: 578
Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 02:50

Re: AutoHotkey Startup (Consolidate AHK Scripts' Tray Icons)

19 Mar 2014, 16:39

sorry i may be asking a bit too much but it would be ideal if a user could "selectively" add or remove scripts from the Startup menu or tray icon so that it won't an all or nothing deal and a user could selectively load or close scripts through Startup tray icon or something similar (a panel, a menu, etc.).
AHKxx
Posts: 52
Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 01:37

Re: AutoHotkey Startup (Consolidate AHK Scripts' Tray Icons)

19 Mar 2014, 16:50

@Guest10 If I understand what you're asking, it's possible to do that if you also use FG's Hotkey Help script (see his sig.)

It's useful on its own but makes a really great pairing with the Startup script (having them both running, its easy to forget that they're actually 2 diff scripts!), and it lets you selectively pause, stop, suspend, edit, reload, and open script. There's a menu on top... and if you open the script and look for where the menu is generated, and yo add an &mpersand in front of each menu item, you get shortcut keys. Very cool.

I haven't been able to get the new Startup to work without throwing one error or another. Not sure if it's something I'm doing or not doing or what. Will post later with more deets if I can't figure it out.

@FG Thank you for these 2 fantastically helpful scripts!
sttrebo
Posts: 25
Joined: 27 Jan 2014, 12:31

Re: AutoHotkey Startup (Consolidate AHK Scripts' Tray Icons)

19 Mar 2014, 17:06

excellent script, thanks for this.

one question though: instead of using absolute paths to the scripts that I have loaded, I use relative paths (makes it easier for using this on multiple computers). what I mean is this:
absolute path: c:\user\myname\dropbox\ahk\autocomplete\autocomplete.ahk
relative path (assuming that autohotkey startup.ahk is in c:\user\myname\dropbox\ahk): .\autocomplete\autocomplete.ahk

but this relative style of pathing doesn't seem to work with your script. is this something you could look at?

thanks
Guest10
Posts: 578
Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 02:50

Re: AutoHotkey Startup (Consolidate AHK Scripts' Tray Icons)

19 Mar 2014, 19:02

thanks i didn't know Hotkey Help existed. i did a lil mod to tighten up spacing in Hotkey Help - Pick Settings: yxxx:

Code: [Select all] [Expand] [Download] (Script.ahk)GeSHi © Codebox Plus



AHKxx wrote:@Guest10 If I understand what you're asking, it's possible to do that if you also use FG's Hotkey Help script (see his sig.)

It's useful on its own but makes a really great pairing with the Startup script (having them both running, its easy to forget that they're actually 2 diff scripts!), and it lets you selectively pause, stop, suspend, edit, reload, and open script. There's a menu on top... and if you open the script and look for where the menu is generated, and yo add an &mpersand in front of each menu item, you get shortcut keys. Very cool.

I haven't been able to get the new Startup to work without throwing one error or another. Not sure if it's something I'm doing or not doing or what. Will post later with more deets if I can't figure it out.

@FG Thank you for these 2 fantastically helpful scripts!
FanaticGuru
Posts: 534
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 22:25

Re: AutoHotkey Startup (Consolidate AHK Scripts' Tray Icons)

20 Mar 2014, 00:48

sttrebo wrote:excellent script, thanks for this.

one question though: instead of using absolute paths to the scripts that I have loaded, I use relative paths (makes it easier for using this on multiple computers). what I mean is this:
absolute path: c:\user\myname\dropbox\ahk\autocomplete\autocomplete.ahk
relative path (assuming that autohotkey startup.ahk is in c:\user\myname\dropbox\ahk): .\autocomplete\autocomplete.ahk

but this relative style of pathing doesn't seem to work with your script. is this something you could look at?

thanks

A_ScriptDir "\autocomplete\autocomplete.ahk" would allow relative pathing.
A_ScriptDir is a built-in variable that contains the full path of the directory where the current script is located.

I will see about adding the ability to use .\ to make it easier though and possibly ..\ to step back a folder.

FG
Hotkey Help - Help Dialog for Currently Running AHK Scripts

AHK Startup - Consolidate Multiply AHK Scripts with one Tray Icon

Google Search, Dictionary, Thesaurus - Quickly Get Information from Specific Web Resources

[Function] Timer - Create and Manage Timers
ozzii
Posts: 277
Joined: 30 Oct 2013, 06:04

Re: AutoHotkey Startup (Consolidate AHK Scripts' Tray Icons)

20 Mar 2014, 04:49

Hi FanaticGuru,
Thanks for this handful script.
I have a question:

I've put this:

Code: [Select all] [Download] GeSHi © Codebox Plus

(Join, 
A_ScriptDir "\Startup\"
)]

I have a message Startup.ahk does not exist. Create it now ?
How come ?
FanaticGuru
Posts: 534
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 22:25

Re: AutoHotkey Startup (Consolidate AHK Scripts' Tray Icons)

20 Mar 2014, 15:31

ozzii wrote:Hi FanaticGuru,
Thanks for this handful script.
I have a question:

I've put this:

Code: [Select all] [Download] GeSHi © Codebox Plus

(Join, 
A_ScriptDir "\Startup\"
)]

I have a message Startup.ahk does not exist. Create it now ?
How come ?

I don't know. This works for me.

The message you are getting I believe is when you attempt to use the Run command to run a script that does not exist.

Below is my directory structure for testing your problem.

Code: [Select all] [Download] GeSHi © Codebox Plus

C:\Users\Guru\Documents\AutoHotkey\My Scripts\Startup - AutoHotkey.ahk
C:\Users\Guru\Documents\AutoHotkey\My Scripts\Startup\Startup.ahk
"Startup - AutoHotkey.ahk" is this script and I have a shortcut in my Windows Startup folder to run it on bootup. Must be a shortcut and not the actually script or A_ScriptDir will be looking in the Windows Startup folder which is probably not what you want.

A_ScriptDir gets expanded to C:\Users\Guru\Documents\AutoHotkey\My Scripts which causes the folder to look in to be C:\Users\Guru\Documents\AutoHotkey\My Scripts\Startup\ where it finds Startup.ahk which then gets Run.

I have a function that lets me look at array contents from the String Things library.

Code: [Select all] [Expand] [Download] (Script.ahk)GeSHi © Codebox Plus


If you put that function at the end of the script then you can put this at places in the script to make sure the array Files and Scripts contain the expected information.

Code: [Select all] [Download] (Script.ahk)GeSHi © Codebox Plus

MsgBox % ST_printarr(Files)
MsgBox % ST_printarr(Scripts)

Maybe that will help you sort out the problem. There could be problem with my script or A_ScriptDir does not contain what you expect. I also believe you are not running a standard American English setup but I don't see right off how that could have anything to do with the problem. Does your A_ScriptDir contain any "weird" characters?

FG
Hotkey Help - Help Dialog for Currently Running AHK Scripts

AHK Startup - Consolidate Multiply AHK Scripts with one Tray Icon

Google Search, Dictionary, Thesaurus - Quickly Get Information from Specific Web Resources

[Function] Timer - Create and Manage Timers

Return to “Scripts and Functions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests