[FUNCTION] StdoutToVar with exit code

Post your working scripts, libraries and tools for AHK v1.1 and older
User avatar
cyruz
Posts: 346
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 13:31

Re: [FUNCTION] StdoutToVar with exit code

20 Dec 2014, 06:50

Ajdaha wrote:Hi and thanks for this usefull function.

I just want to know is there a way to this function runs process with admin privilages? (I don't want to run my entire script as admin!)

I mean something like this "Run *RunAs ..." happen inside of the function!
(I'm genius and I know it! :v)
It should be possible, but you need to replace the CreateProcess system call with CreateProcessAsUser. You need to create a new token... It's not simple.
ABCza on the old forum.
My GitHub.
User avatar
menteith
Posts: 51
Joined: 04 Feb 2016, 12:22

Re: [FUNCTION] StdoutToVar with exit code

15 Jul 2016, 09:47

Does this function work on Windows 10? I tested it on Win 7 x64 and there is no problem but on Windows 10 32bit EN-GB the following script starts and does nothing. There is only freezed icon in the taskbar.

Code: Select all

out := StdoutToVar_CreateProcess("cmd.exe /k dir c:\","CP1")
MsgBox % out
Return

; ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
; Function .....: StdoutToVar_CreateProcess
; Description ..: Runs a command line program and returns its output.
; Parameters ...: sCmd      - Commandline to execute.
; ..............: sEncoding - Encoding used by the target process. Look at StrGet() for possible values.
; ..............: sDir      - Working directory.
; ..............: nExitCode - Process exit code, receive it as a byref parameter.
; Return .......: Command output as a string on success, empty string on error.
; AHK Version ..: AHK_L x32/64 Unicode/ANSI
; Author .......: Sean (http://goo.gl/o3VCO8), modified by nfl and by Cyruz
; License ......: WTFPL - http://www.wtfpl.net/txt/copying/
; Changelog ....: Feb. 20, 2007 - Sean version.
; ..............: Sep. 21, 2011 - nfl version.
; ..............: Nov. 27, 2013 - Cyruz version (code refactored and exit code).
; ..............: Mar. 09, 2014 - Removed input, doesn't seem reliable. Some code improvements.
; ..............: Mar. 16, 2014 - Added encoding parameter as pointed out by lexikos.
; ..............: Jun. 02, 2014 - Corrected exit code error.
; ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
StdoutToVar_CreateProcess(sCmd, sEncoding:="CP0", sDir:="", ByRef nExitCode:=0) {
    DllCall( "CreatePipe",           PtrP,hStdOutRd, PtrP,hStdOutWr, Ptr,0, UInt,0 )
    DllCall( "SetHandleInformation", Ptr,hStdOutWr, UInt,1, UInt,1                 )
 
            VarSetCapacity( pi, (A_PtrSize == 4) ? 16 : 24,  0 )
    siSz := VarSetCapacity( si, (A_PtrSize == 4) ? 68 : 104, 0 )
    NumPut( siSz,      si,  0,                          "UInt" )
    NumPut( 0x100,     si,  (A_PtrSize == 4) ? 44 : 60, "UInt" )
    NumPut( hStdInRd,  si,  (A_PtrSize == 4) ? 56 : 80, "Ptr"  )
    NumPut( hStdOutWr, si,  (A_PtrSize == 4) ? 60 : 88, "Ptr"  )
    NumPut( hStdOutWr, si,  (A_PtrSize == 4) ? 64 : 96, "Ptr"  )
 
    If ( !DllCall( "CreateProcess", Ptr,0, Ptr,&sCmd, Ptr,0, Ptr,0, Int,True, UInt,0x08000000
                                  , Ptr,0, Ptr,sDir?&sDir:0, Ptr,&si, Ptr,&pi ) )
        Return ""
      , DllCall( "CloseHandle", Ptr,hStdOutWr )
      , DllCall( "CloseHandle", Ptr,hStdOutRd )
 
    DllCall( "CloseHandle", Ptr,hStdOutWr ) ; The write pipe must be closed before reading the stdout.
    VarSetCapacity(sTemp, 4095)
    While ( DllCall( "ReadFile", Ptr,hStdOutRd, Ptr,&sTemp, UInt,4095, PtrP,nSize, Ptr,0 ) )
        sOutput .= StrGet(&sTemp, nSize, sEncoding)
 
    DllCall( "GetExitCodeProcess", Ptr,NumGet(pi,0), UIntP,nExitCode )
    DllCall( "CloseHandle",        Ptr,NumGet(pi,0)                  )
    DllCall( "CloseHandle",        Ptr,NumGet(pi,A_PtrSize)          )
    DllCall( "CloseHandle",        Ptr,hStdOutRd                     )
    Return sOutput
}
An ordinary user who needs some help with developing own programs for his own use.
User avatar
Joe Glines
Posts: 770
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 20:49
Location: Dallas
Contact:

Re: [FUNCTION] StdoutToVar with exit code

15 Jul 2016, 12:27

It hung for me as well. I'm running 64 bit Win10 and 32-bit AutoHotkey_L.
Sign-up for the 🅰️HK Newsletter

ImageImageImageImage:clap:
AHK Tutorials:Web Scraping | | Webservice APIs | AHK and Excel | Chrome | RegEx | Functions
Training: AHK Webinars Courses on AutoHotkey :ugeek:
YouTube

:thumbup: Quick Access Popup, the powerful Windows folders, apps and documents launcher!
qwerty12
Posts: 468
Joined: 04 Mar 2016, 04:33
Contact:

Re: [FUNCTION] StdoutToVar with exit code

16 Jul 2016, 05:16

menteith wrote:Does this function work on Windows 10?
Well, no, in this case because you're telling cmd to remain present after running dir. This function can't get the exit code until the child process terminates. Use cmd /C.

EDIT: My reasoning probably isn't right, as I wrongly assumed this function waited on the process's termination via waiting on the handle. In any case, leaving cmd behind wouldn't be the right thing to do IMHO.

EDIT: Thank you, cyruz, for the proper explanation and for updating your function. I don't use this, but your TermWait is a god send.
Last edited by qwerty12 on 02 Nov 2016, 11:43, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
menteith
Posts: 51
Joined: 04 Feb 2016, 12:22

Re: [FUNCTION] StdoutToVar with exit code

16 Jul 2016, 05:22

It did the trick, thanks. It is quite weird, however, because my initial code "cmd /k" works fine on Win 7.
An ordinary user who needs some help with developing own programs for his own use.
User avatar
cyruz
Posts: 346
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 13:31

Re: [FUNCTION] StdoutToVar with exit code

02 Nov 2016, 04:00

Hello, this is probably due to the fact that the ReadFile is blocking. It has something to do with how the pipe are managed on Windows 10 i suppose, but it's something hard to debug.

Just for info this code has a problem if the child process does not flush its buffers in a timely manner. The ReadFile will be stuck until there will be some data in the pipe buffer and the autohotkey thread will be frozen (GUIs will be unresponsive). I just updated the function with a new version that checks pipe content first so it avoids any freezings.
ABCza on the old forum.
My GitHub.
zhanglei1371
Posts: 28
Joined: 05 Aug 2014, 02:01

Re: [FUNCTION] StdoutToVar with exit code

07 May 2018, 18:23

I used the code below,but nothing get,why?

msgbox % StdoutToVar_CreateProcess("dir c:\")
but if I used :
msgbox % StdoutToVar_CreateProcess("ping www.baidu.com"),it works.
burque505
Posts: 1731
Joined: 22 Jan 2017, 19:37

Re: [FUNCTION] StdoutToVar with exit code

07 May 2018, 19:09

Hi zhanglei1371, try this:

Code: Select all

#Include StdOutToVar.ahk
msgbox % StdoutToVar_CreateProcess("cmd.exe /c dir c:\")
This works too:

Code: Select all

msgbox % StdoutToVar_CreateProcess(Comspec " /c dir c:\")
Regards,
burque505
zhanglei1371
Posts: 28
Joined: 05 Aug 2014, 02:01

Re: [FUNCTION] StdoutToVar with exit code

15 May 2018, 07:35

burque505 wrote:Hi zhanglei1371, try this:

Code: Select all

#Include StdOutToVar.ahk
msgbox % StdoutToVar_CreateProcess("cmd.exe /c dir c:\")
This works too:

Code: Select all

msgbox % StdoutToVar_CreateProcess(Comspec " /c dir c:\")
Regards,
burque505
ManyThx,it works!
burque505
Posts: 1731
Joined: 22 Jan 2017, 19:37

Re: [FUNCTION] StdoutToVar with exit code

15 May 2018, 07:53

:) Glad to hear it!
Regards,
burque505

Return to “Scripts and Functions (v1)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bodhi, Google [Bot], gwarble, Spikea and 133 guests