A_Temp and NotePad++

Discuss features, issues, about Editors for AHK
tdalon
Posts: 6
Joined: 21 Apr 2017, 07:19
Google: thierrydalon
GitHub: tdalon

A_Temp and NotePad++

21 Apr 2017, 08:06

Hello
somehow my %A_Temp% has the value:
C:\Users\uid41890\AppData\Local\Temp\Notepad++PortableTemp
instead of the expected C:\Users\uid41890\AppData\Local\Temp\.
Does anyone know why?
just me
Posts: 5660
Joined: 02 Oct 2013, 08:51
Location: Germany

Re: %A_Temp% wrong value \Temp\Notepad++PortableTemp

21 Apr 2017, 08:11

Why do you post this qestion in the 'Bug Reports' section?
tdalon
Posts: 6
Joined: 21 Apr 2017, 07:19
Google: thierrydalon
GitHub: tdalon

Re: %A_Temp% wrong value \Temp\Notepad++PortableTemp

21 Apr 2017, 08:22

Looks like a bug to me.
just me
Posts: 5660
Joined: 02 Oct 2013, 08:51
Location: Germany

Re: %A_Temp% wrong value \Temp\Notepad++PortableTemp

21 Apr 2017, 08:27

If it is a bug, it's certainly no AHK bug. If your're running scripts from Notepad++ PortableTemp, it's most likely Notepad++.
tdalon
Posts: 6
Joined: 21 Apr 2017, 07:19
Google: thierrydalon
GitHub: tdalon

Re: %A_Temp% wrong value \Temp\Notepad++PortableTemp

21 Apr 2017, 08:37

You are right. It isn't a AHK bug.
I thought the NPP Run Plugin would only run the file as if I would do this manually. No idea why it impacts on the %A_Temp%.
If I run the AHK manually %A_Temp% value is fine.
This is pretty weird/ hard to explain to me.
tdalon
Posts: 6
Joined: 21 Apr 2017, 07:19
Google: thierrydalon
GitHub: tdalon

Re: %A_Temp% wrong value \Temp\Notepad++PortableTemp

21 Apr 2017, 08:40

How can I delete this stupid question?
tdalon
Posts: 6
Joined: 21 Apr 2017, 07:19
Google: thierrydalon
GitHub: tdalon

Re: %A_Temp% wrong value \Temp\Notepad++PortableTemp

21 Apr 2017, 08:49

Reason is due to the Notepad++ RunMe Plugin. I run AHK from it. And it changes the %Temp% variable.
User avatar
nnnik
Posts: 3563
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 01:01
Location: Germany

Re: %A_Temp% wrong value \Temp\Notepad++PortableTemp

21 Apr 2017, 09:13

Please let it stay. I will move it to the right section.
Other members might have similar troubles and we will be able to point them at this thread.
Recommends AHK Studio
User avatar
lmstearn
Posts: 162
Joined: 11 Aug 2016, 02:32
GitHub: lmstearn

Re: A_Temp and NotePad++

25 Jan 2018, 23:35

Another curious thing with N++ {RunMe} is captured local hotkeys.

Code: Select all

#IfWinActive MyAHKScript
{
Del::
}
Delete doesn't work in N++ while the script is running and even when the hotkey has not been activated. Anyone else get that?
Edit: Ew. Also in HTMLHelp Workshop- even Explorer... this warrants a closer look. :problem:
Happens with the compiled script as well, but narrowing it down some kind of "fixation" AHK has with another app on first run after boot. Even if the app is closed & restarted, the key is affected.

Code: Select all

#IfWinActive MyAHKScript ahk_class AutoHotkeyGUI
{
Del::
}
:arrow: itros "ylbbub eht tuO kaerB" a ni kcuts m'I pleH

Return to “Editors”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests