Multi-Threading Emulation and SetTimer's Topic.

Helpful script writing tricks and HowTo's
Kenzis

Multi-Threading Emulation and SetTimer's Topic.

24 Jul 2023, 13:03

This is an interesting topic I'd like to share. I want to explain how you can achieve multi-threading in AutoHotkey, simulating an ASync-like behavior. (Note: I'm a beginner, and this fascinates me).

Let's start with SetTimers, which are less complicated. SetTimers allow us to call specific subroutines or labels at regular intervals. While it's not the same as ASync, using this function allows us to mimic some aspects of asynchronous computation. SetTimer is particularly useful when dealing with messy code or functions that don't need to be executed immediately. We can alter the delay using variables, making it longer (up to a maximum we set) or shorter, even executing SetTimer immediately. It's amazing, but there's a catch.

This isn't true multi-threading, as we are still using one line of code. Although we can time and execute each code segment depending on our set time, it can be extremely precise. However, it still lacks the ability to execute multiple lines without one affecting the other (which is the essence of multi-threading). Despite this, it's great for games and performance improvements. Though AutoHotkey isn't primarily intended for games, I managed to create a game using SetTimers without any other ASync-like techniques, and it works wonderfully.

Now, let's explore Multi-Threading and what it enables us to achieve:

Simple---

1. Better Performance
2. Faster Computation and Greater Precision

Precision comes into play when we time two scripts to act as one function, which might not be possible in a single script due to speed limitations (again, utilizing SetTimers in both script instances).