What are the main challenges of switching to v2?

Get help with using AutoHotkey (v2 or newer) and its commands and hotkeys
Cr8zy_Ivan

What are the main challenges of switching to v2?

11 May 2023, 11:43

I've been putting off switching to v2 for a while now. Just as a general overall question, what are the main differences or challenges you have faced when switching from v1 to v2?

Any insights would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers!
mikeyww

Re: What are the main challenges of switching to v2?

11 May 2023, 13:38

Hello,

This question has been asked and discussed many times here in the forum-- at great length-- so you might find it useful to read those posts. In terms of differences, there is also an extensive changelog already posted online.
RussF

11 May 2023, 13:48

For me, and I'm still learning V2, the easiest thing is the universal use of expressions. This is something I struggled with when first learning V1 by having to determine when and where I needed the infamous % signs. Expression driven coding is something I am used to, coming from other languages.

The most difficult thing for me so far has been managing GUIs with the OOP style use of methods and properties. I'm getting there, though! I still feel it is far superior to V1.

I have to admit, though, while I understand the removal of GoSub since every subroutine is essentially a function, I question the continuance of GoTo. I haven't used GoTO since my early days with Applesoft BASIC and GWBASIC, where you had no choice. Once I learned Pascal and dBase, and BASIC finally evolved into a more structured language, I never used it again. Ever. I maintain that ANY program can be written without it as long as you can properly structure your code with versatile loops and user-defined functions. Don't use it, you don't need it and it will only get you in trouble.

My $0.02 worth.

Russ
FanaticGuru

11 May 2023, 13:53

Cr8zy_Ivan wrote:
11 May 2023, 11:43