Page 1 of 1

AutoHotkey Plus Plus author here :)

Posted: 07 Feb 2023, 22:58
by Curdflappers
Hi everyone, just wanted to introduce myself and answer any questions folks may have about AutoHotkey Plus Plus for VS Code :) I've been maintaining it on and off since November 2020, and with v2 officially released I'll be doing major work to improve support for both AHK v1 and v2!

I'll say I've been relatively inactive on these forums but it looks like an amazing community and I look forward to learning from all of you! I've personally never written much AHK code myself, but v2 looks great and I've got a good list of things I've been meaning to automate for a while :)

Please let me know if you have any questions about the extension, feature requests, etc. and I'd be happy to address any concerns you have!

https://github.com/vscode-autohotkey/ahkpp

Re: AutoHotkey Plus Plus author here :)

Posted: 08 Feb 2023, 01:41
by boiler
Hello. I use your extension and was probably going to be switching to or adding one with more direct v2 support eventually, so it’s good to hear you will be updating it. Keep us posted!

Re: AutoHotkey Plus Plus author here :)

Posted: 23 Feb 2023, 21:32
by longlongago
Thank you very much for your extension

Re: AutoHotkey Plus Plus author here :)

Posted: 01 Mar 2023, 10:41
by Ben G
Curdflappers wrote:
07 Feb 2023, 22:58
I've been maintaining it on and off since November 2020, and with v2 officially released I'll be doing major work to improve support for both AHK v1 and v2!
Does it support V2 yet? The extension I'm using is kind of awful, so I was hoping for a better one (potentially yours)! ;)

Re: AutoHotkey Plus Plus author here :)

Posted: 14 Mar 2023, 00:09
by markwiemer
AHK++ author on an alt account now (proof).

V2 support will be a lot of work. You can see some of the projects I'm researching for inspiration in my "AutoHotkey Plus Plus research" GitHub list. For now, I'd recommend thqby's AutoHotkey v2 Language Support extension. Here is my progress on adding V2 support to AHK++ here

Re: AutoHotkey Plus Plus author here :)

Posted: 14 Mar 2023, 10:44
by Ben G
markwiemer wrote: For now, I'd recommend thqby's AutoHotkey v2 Language Support extension. Here is my progress on adding V2 support to AHK++ here
Ah, I see.

Re: AutoHotkey Plus Plus author here :)

Posted: 12 Jun 2023, 07:17
by DaveT1
Hi Mark,

Thanks for this extension :bravo:

Is this the right place to reach out to you to ask Qs?

Re: AutoHotkey Plus Plus author here :)

Posted: 12 Jun 2023, 07:21
by boiler
DaveT1 wrote:
12 Jun 2023, 07:17
Is this the right place to reach out to you to ask Qs?
Curdflappers wrote:
07 Feb 2023, 22:58
Please let me know if you have any questions about the extension, feature requests, etc. and I'd be happy to address any concerns you have!

Re: AutoHotkey Plus Plus author here :)

Posted: 12 Jun 2023, 07:28
by DaveT1
boiler wrote:
12 Jun 2023, 07:21
DaveT1 wrote:
12 Jun 2023, 07:17
Is this the right place to reach out to you to ask Qs?
Curdflappers wrote:
07 Feb 2023, 22:58
Please let me know if you have any questions about the extension, feature requests, etc. and I'd be happy to address any concerns you have!
Thanks - he prefers AUTOHOTKEY forum as Curdflappers / markwiemer or Github where he has I think directed some people?

I will compose my Q and ask it here.

Re: AutoHotkey Plus Plus author here :)

Posted: 12 Jun 2023, 07:44
by boiler
I don't know what he prefers, but he certainly created this thread to invite questions here.

Re: AutoHotkey Plus Plus author here :)

Posted: 13 Jun 2023, 12:05
by DaveT1
Hi Mark,

Great extension btw - thanks for working on it.

Question related to code folding. I've tried to illustrate this in the image below:
Untitled.png
Untitled.png (90.67 KiB) Viewed 3194 times
I've tried to show that with no vscode extensions enabled, code folding leaves a blank line at line 126. But with AutoHotkey Plus Plus enabled, code folding does not have a blank line showing at line 126.

It seems that the light grey vertical line (does this show various indent levels?) which shows in the unfolded code images is slightly different with and without the extension. So am I right to think AutoHotkey Plus Plus is making some change to this? If so, is it by design?

From a visual perspective, I'd much rather have code folding al-la no extensions ie., which leaves the blank line 'showing'.

I've tried 'fiddling' with C:\Users\Dave\.vscode\extensions\mark-wiemer.vscode-autohotkey-plus-plus-3.3.0\language\ahk.configuration.json, but I don't know what I'm doing. And even when this file is empty, code folding is unaffected.

Don't know if this is something quick and obvious that I could adjust?

Many thanks for any help.

Re: AutoHotkey Plus Plus author here :)

Posted: 26 Jun 2023, 11:53
by DaveT1
OK, I think I've found the solution to the problem I outlined in the previous post. After a lot (and I mean a lot) of googling, it seems you need to add "offside" to the folding section in ahk.configuration.json, viz:

Code: Select all

    "folding": {
        "markers": {
            "start": "^(\\/\\*)?\\s*\\;\\s*region\\b",
            "end": "^(\\*\\/)?\\s*\\;\\s*endregion\\b"
        },
		"offSide": true
    }
I read somewhere that it tells the editor to regard the 1st whitespace line as being part of the preceeding block rather than the subsequent block - but having re-looked for a source for this I can't find it anymore! No matter, "offside" seems to do the job :dance: .

HTHs.

Re: AutoHotkey Plus Plus author here :)

Posted: 11 Aug 2023, 03:33
by OliverK
Seeing the indention there in the unfolded block.. how can you avoid that the curly braces are indented? It's not my style, never seen that to be honest..

So:

if(a = b)
...{
......; do something
...}



should be:

if(a = b)
{
...; do something
}

(.) just placeholders for space

Everytime I have to move those damned braces.. ;) (But nice plugin otherwise of course!!)

Re: AutoHotkey Plus Plus author here :)

Posted: 11 Aug 2023, 05:16
by DaveT1
Hmmm, it seems that Mark has releaed a new (and looks much more capable) version of AutoHotkey plus plus. What happens if you use TAB rather than space to indent your .....;do something lines? Actually for me I've just checked and either TAB or space(s) allow me to fold:

Code: Select all

 if(a = b)
>{                         <---I get a vscode code folding mark in the editor margin at this line.
 ...; do something
 }
and:

Code: Select all

> if(a = b)                 <---I get a vscode code folding mark in the editor margin at this line.
>    {                         <---I get a vscode code folding mark in the editor margin at this line.
      ...; do something
     }
But very frustratingly for me the "offside": true 'trick' doesn't work anymore :o I always indent (personal choice) and to have all the blank lines after the close bracket included in the fold makes things hard for me. I'll keep trying to find a new fix for this, but I think your problem should be fixed?

Re: AutoHotkey Plus Plus author here :)

Posted: 11 Aug 2023, 14:23
by DaveT1
Hi @Curdflappers

Just wondering if you're around on this forum to help with AHK++? :wave:

I see you're active on GitHub, but I don't know how to raise a general question there.

Very grateful for the effort youi're putting in with the extension BTW.

Re: AutoHotkey Plus Plus author here :)

Posted: 19 Aug 2023, 02:40
by DaveT1
DaveT1 wrote:
11 Aug 2023, 14:23
Hi @Curdflappers

Just wondering if you're around on this forum to help with AHK++? :wave:

I see you're active on GitHub, but I don't know how to raise a general question there.

Very grateful for the effort youi're putting in with the extension BTW.
Maybe you are on the AUTOHOTKEY forums as @markwiemer ?

Re: AutoHotkey Plus Plus author here :)

Posted: 20 Aug 2023, 05:37
by neogna2
DaveT1 wrote:
11 Aug 2023, 14:23
I see you're active on GitHub, but I don't know how to raise a general question there.
The ahkpp repo has a discussions section
https://www.github.com/mark-wiemer-org/ahkpp/discussions/categories/general