Help my text has unwanted quotes in game (Ark) Topic is solved

Ask gaming related questions
jhuked
Posts: 2
Joined: 04 Apr 2024, 16:31

Help my text has unwanted quotes in game (Ark)

04 Apr 2024, 17:14

Hello, I am trying to make command line shortcuts for the game ark. To open the command interface you have to hit the ` key. In the command line you type your text then hit enter. I can get my script to work in a text document. In game however it opens the command line and enters text, but with the " or ' showing. here is my script.

Code: Select all

^Numpad7:: ; modifier plus key of your choice.
{
	Send '``' ; sends the ` keystroke to open command line in game.
	Send 'Your text here' ; sends whatever text you want.
	send '`n' ; sends the enter keystroke.
}
In a text document I get what I need, the ` pops up showing it worked, then I get a clean Your text here and the cursor moves down a line showing the enter key worked.

In game the command line opens as intended, but I get the closing ' and then 'Your text here' the enter keystroke works as intended.

I have tried SendInput it doesn't seem to like that, and SendText works in my test text document, but won't let me compile it to see on other computers. I don't have the game my wife dose, but I am making this script for her friend and I need to send it compiled to her.


[Mod edit: Added [code][/code] tags. Please use them yourself when posting code.]
RussF
Posts: 1302
Joined: 05 Aug 2021, 06:36

Re: Help my text has unwanted quotes in game (Ark)  Topic is solved

05 Apr 2024, 06:10

It sounds like you are running the test version in AHK V2, but compiling it with AHK V1. V1 would send the literal quote characters.

Russ
jhuked
Posts: 2
Joined: 04 Apr 2024, 16:31

Re: Help my text has unwanted quotes in game (Ark)

05 Apr 2024, 11:41

Thank you very much that was it. I wasn't testing the compiled file on my computer, because I thought it was the same as my script. When I did test it on my computer it too had the quotes. fied default setting in compiler and now it works as intended.

Return to “Gaming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Rohwedder and 5 guests