[Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Post your working scripts, libraries and tools
robodesign
Posts: 377
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

09 Feb 2018, 12:55

Hello!

Today's new version:

On GitHub: https://github.com/marius-sucan/KeyPress-OSD

Main AHK file:
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... ss-osd.ahk

ZIP Package compiled [x64 / x32]
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... mpiled.zip

v4.19.7 (2018-02-09)
- improved keyboard detection, further more; now it can detect keyboard layouts with IME and mark them as unsupported :-).

All binaries and files updated.

Ps. Upon further testing, keyboard layout detection is still..... Unfinished.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
SpencerH
Posts: 15
Joined: 18 Jan 2018, 16:04
Facebook: http://fb.com/mrhobbeys

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

10 Feb 2018, 18:07

@robodesign

I was thinking it would be helpful to have this OSD display what the "my" script is doing as it does it. Kind of a debugging tool.
robodesign
Posts: 377
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

11 Feb 2018, 06:41

Hello, guys!

After a few days, I finally got the detection of IMEs to work.

On GitHub: https://github.com/marius-sucan/KeyPress-OSD

Main AHK file:
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... ss-osd.ahk

ZIP Package compiled [x64 / x32]
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... mpiled.zip

CHANGELOG
v4.19.8 (2018-02-11)
- fixed keyboard layout detection... now it properly detects IMEs, layouts with IMEs are not supported [again, many thanks to Drugwash for the help offered with this]

All files updated.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
robodesign
Posts: 377
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

12 Feb 2018, 14:32

Hello, guys!

Today's new version:

Main AHK file:
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... ss-osd.ahk

v4.19.9 (2018-02-12)
- [new] string generator for hotkeys in Global shortcuts; to make it easier to change shortcuts, for beginners
- minor bug fixes

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
burque505
Posts: 585
Joined: 22 Jan 2017, 19:37

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

12 Feb 2018, 17:48

Thanks, Marius!
Regards,
burque505
robodesign
Posts: 377
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

13 Feb 2018, 15:14

Hello, amigos!

Yesterday's update screwed up shortcuts customization. Sorry. Today's update fixes it and makes it much more friendlier - hopefully.

On GitHub: https://github.com/marius-sucan/KeyPress-OSD

Main AHK file:
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... ss-osd.ahk

ZIP Package compiled [x64 / x32]
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... mpiled.zip

Change log
v4.20 (2018-02-13)
- [new] Shortcuts configuration/customization is now user-friendly; each shortcut is redefined on what you press. With Esc, the shortcut returns to its default, with Delete, you disable it.
- [new] PayPal button for donations at About window: https://www.paypal.me/MariusSucan/15 .

update. the new features for customizing keyboard shortcuts are still buggy... More work is needed.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
robodesign
Posts: 377
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

14 Feb 2018, 16:34

Hello!

And a new version....

Main AHK file:
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... ss-osd.ahk

v4.20.1 (2018-02-14)
- [new] option to save and update in real time changes you make at Mouse preferences, this is meant to facilitate configuration
- fixes regarding Keyboard shortcut customization


@burque505... Please test this version. Please let me know if you can customize the global keyboard shortcuts [Main menu > Preferences > Shortcuts]. I need to know if this works for you or not.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
burque505
Posts: 585
Joined: 22 Jan 2017, 19:37

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

14 Feb 2018, 18:08

HI Marius.
All the Ctrl-Alt-Shift+Function keys work.
Win+Insert works.
Win+Alt+Insert works.
Shift, Pause works (very handy)!
Ctrl-Alt-Insert, Ctrl-Win-Insert, Ctrl-Shift-Insert, not working, nor do any customized shortcuts (i.e., Shift+Insert, etc.). It does accept the key changes, even if they don't work.
Ctrl-CapsLock works.
Can't customize any of the Other Global Shortcuts, won't accept the keys entered.

Win7 64-bit, AHK_H 1.1.27.06
Regards,
burque505
robodesign
Posts: 377
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

14 Feb 2018, 18:16

@Burque505 So..... you can't set new keys? Did you click on the white square and see "press any key" ? I apologize, but it's hard for me to understand what you mean. Some things seem to work, others not. Please be clearer.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
burque505
Posts: 585
Joined: 22 Jan 2017, 19:37

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

15 Feb 2018, 08:38

Hi, I see you're online, I've only got about 5 minutes before I have to go to work.
As I mentioned, no customized shortcuts work, although they do accept key changes.
Unfortunately, only the first key change is accepted. After that, when I click on the white square and press a key combination, it pulls in what's in the display, not what I press (top three options). Some letters appear in the small edit box to the left of each option, they appear to be part of the text in the display.
Only the top three accept customized keys (albeit extremely erratically and they don't work). None of the other Global shortcuts will even accept keys entered.
The commands for which the keys are defaulted to Ctrl-Alt-Insert, Ctrl-Win-Insert, Ctrl-Shift-Insert do not work, regardless of what I do.
Sorry, more later.
Regards,
burque505
robodesign
Posts: 377
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

15 Feb 2018, 08:52

Okay, thank you very much for your feedback. It seems what I made there for key customization is crap.

Don't bother later with that again. I will change that entirely, with something else. When I am done making the new version, I will need you to test it again. I will probably be able to get it done tomorrow.

Thank you.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
robodesign
Posts: 377
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

15 Feb 2018, 13:05

Hello!

On GitHub: https://github.com/marius-sucan/KeyPress-OSD

Main AHK file:
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... ss-osd.ahk

ZIP Package compiled [x64 / x32]
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... mpiled.zip

All files updated - binaries as well.

v4.20.2 (2018-02-15)
- [overhaul] the entire Keyboard shortcut customization panel redone from scratch, it should work this time and, should also be user friendly

@burque505: I managed to finish earlier than I expected. Please test it. It should really work now, to change/customize keys. If it does not... tell me :-).

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
burque505
Posts: 585
Joined: 22 Jan 2017, 19:37

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

15 Feb 2018, 13:43

Looking good! Didn't find anything so far that isn't working.
Regards,
burque505
robodesign
Posts: 377
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

15 Feb 2018, 14:22

Wow! That's fantastic, finally! Please let me know whenever you find bugs.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
User avatar
Drugwash
Posts: 567
Joined: 29 May 2014, 21:07
Location: Ploieşti, Romania

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

15 Feb 2018, 16:47

The compiled thing doesn't work at all in XP, I think it never did for many AHK_H versions back. I tried compiling some script too (with 1.1.27.06) and it always fails. AHK_H is broken for XP.
I've deleted my CloudMe account because of GDPR - the now legal base for privacy invasion and data theft.
robodesign
Posts: 377
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

15 Feb 2018, 16:54

Oh, sorry about that. It's obviously nothing I can do about it. Anyways, who's using XP nowadays? :-). Very few. And the numbers get lower day by day.

@Burque505 . Does the compiled version crash for you as well?
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
User avatar
Drugwash
Posts: 567
Joined: 29 May 2014, 21:07
Location: Ploieşti, Romania

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

16 Feb 2018, 04:15

It doesn't crash, just silently exits after two failed calls, as shown by Dependency Walker:

Code: Select all

GetProcAddress(0x7C800000 [KERNEL32.DLL], "FlsAlloc") called from "MSVCR100.DLL" at address 0x78ABB3BF and returned NULL by thread 1. Error: The specified procedure could not be found (127).
GetProcAddress(0x7C800000 [KERNEL32.DLL], "FlsGetValue") called from "MSVCR100.DLL" at address 0x78ABB3CC and returned NULL by thread 1. Error: The specified procedure could not be found (127).
GetProcAddress(0x7C800000 [KERNEL32.DLL], "FlsSetValue") called from "MSVCR100.DLL" at address 0x78ABB3D9 and returned NULL by thread 1. Error: The specified procedure could not be found (127).
GetProcAddress(0x7C800000 [KERNEL32.DLL], "FlsFree") called from "MSVCR100.DLL" at address 0x78ABB3E6 and returned NULL by thread 1. Error: The specified procedure could not be found (127).

[…]

GetProcAddress(0x7E410000 [USER32.DLL], "RemoveClipboardFormatListener") called from "KEYPRESS-OSD-X32.EXE" at address 0x004B94E7 and returned NULL by thread 1. Error: The specified procedure could not be found (127).
GetProcAddress(0x7E410000 [USER32.DLL], "AddClipboardFormatListener") called from "KEYPRESS-OSD-X32.EXE" at address 0x004B9507 and returned NULL by thread 1. Error: The specified procedure could not be found (127).
Also, the CRT you're providing with the package is x64 only so it wouldn't work for x86 systems. Unfortunately neither the x86 version provided with the original AHK_H package nor the full package downloaded from M$ and installed in the system folder wouldn't help.

I've heard that phrase "who's using X nowadys" a lot back in the 9x "end days" and still there are people using it today. Same for 2000 and XP.
You had enough proof that many more or less regular things working in XP/7 won't work in the abomination.

As for the script, maybe it's time to find a safe way to bring it back to AHK_L in fully working shape before it forever breaks away into v2.
Last edited by Drugwash on 16 Feb 2018, 05:31, edited 1 time in total.
I've deleted my CloudMe account because of GDPR - the now legal base for privacy invasion and data theft.
robodesign
Posts: 377
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

16 Feb 2018, 04:47

The core functionality is working in AHK_L, i mean the OSD. The keyboard beepers and the mouse features do not. Even these, if you start them yourself, separately, they work withj AHK_L as well - AFAIK.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
User avatar
Drugwash
Posts: 567
Joined: 29 May 2014, 21:07
Location: Ploieşti, Romania

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

16 Feb 2018, 05:12

The core functionality is working in AHK_L, i mean the OSD. The keyboard beepers and the mouse features do not.
That's precisely why I specified in fully working shape. ;)

Personally I only want/need the mouse functions (halo and idle halo), the rest is unimportant to me, but the main script manages these mouse functions so it all has to work together. Other people may have other needs but still related to mouse/sound functions.

I'd perform some tests on creating threads in AHK_L but I'd need a really slow machine to check whether they really have any benefit or not in not disturbing the main keyboard input flow - which I suppose is the reason you use additional threads in the first place. But the only slow machine I could use is still off pending repairs, and is running… 98SE. Bummer!
I've deleted my CloudMe account because of GDPR - the now legal base for privacy invasion and data theft.
robodesign
Posts: 377
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

16 Feb 2018, 08:02

@drugwash: AHK ain't really good for serious programming. C/C++ - yes. KeyPress should be redone in C/C++.

Other than this, I noticed on my 32 GB RAM and Core i7 that if I have many timers, things go astray with AHK, so this is why I created new threads, with AHK_H. I am sure on slow systems it is worse.

And speaking of Microsoft and Windows versions. It is easy to insult or criticise Microsoft for this and that, for breaking backwards compatibility. But, we, as mere users, we do not see the bigger picture. Why this or that happened.

Anyways, we should not go off-topic.

I have a new version:

On GitHub: https://github.com/marius-sucan/KeyPress-OSD

Main AHK file:
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... ss-osd.ahk

ZIP Package compiled [x64 / x32]
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... mpiled.zip

CHANGE LOG
v4.20.3 (2018-02-16)
- [new] option at keyboard preferences to choose what names to display for identified keyboard layouts: in English or system default language
- [new] a button to see the list of layouts [at keyboard preferences]
- minor bug fixes

All files updated.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.

Return to “Scripts and Functions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CyL0N and 31 guests