[Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

Post your working scripts, libraries and tools
User avatar
Drugwash
Posts: 567
Joined: 29 May 2014, 21:07
Location: Ploieşti, Romania

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

16 Feb 2018, 10:22

Everything happened (and keeps happening) for money. It's that simple. :)
I've deleted my CloudMe account because of GDPR - the now legal base for privacy invasion and data theft.
SashaChernykh
Posts: 32
Joined: 01 Sep 2016, 04:04
GitHub: Kristinita
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

16 Feb 2018, 11:13

tmplinshi wrote:v2.21 (2017-02-24) - Fixed LWin/RWin not poping up start menu

:arrow: Source


@tmplinshi, do you plain to maintain your Keypress OSD version in future (at least fix possible bugs)?

For example, unfortunately, in @robodesign version impossible display keys in relative position, and I still use your Keypress OSD.

Thanks.
robodesign
Posts: 365
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

16 Feb 2018, 17:48

@Sasha: it is quite difficult to implement positioning per window... I also do not see it as a beneficial feature, sorry.

@Burque505 . Does the compiled version crash for you, on your system? Please let me know.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
robodesign
Posts: 365
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

19 Feb 2018, 12:37

Hello, guys!

A new version is finally here...

On GitHub: https://github.com/marius-sucan/KeyPress-OSD

Main AHK file:
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... ss-osd.ahk

ZIP Package compiled [x64 / x32]
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... mpiled.zip

by Marius Sucan (robodesign.ro)

v4.20.5 (2018-02-19)
- various bug fixes
- improvements for mouse ripples, it now distinguishes between single clicks and double clicks
- KeyPress will hold the OSD visible as long as a modifier or a click is pressed down
- KeyPress will inform the user when it found no text [after attempting to synch with the host app] an...d when attempting to paste the OSD, if there's is nothing in the OSD, it will show a message informing the user that there is nothing to paste...
- the Installed keyboard layouts window is more compact, thanks to Drugwash

v4.20.4 (2018-02-17)
- [new] output OSD content as a tooltip that follows the mouse cursor
- various DLL calls and other under the hood improvements by Drugwash; many thanks!!!
- various other fixes

Lots of changes... ;-). All files updated.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
burque505
Posts: 545
Joined: 22 Jan 2017, 19:37

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

19 Feb 2018, 16:44

Hi Marius, both the compiled version (x64 for me) and the script itself work fine.
Just a couple of things:
1) I'm not sure why this happened, but it took about two minutes before the compiled version would open settings with a right-click on the icon. At first just the stock options showed up, i.e. "Open, Help, Window Spy, Reload This Script, Edit This Script, Suspend Hotkeys, Pause Script, Exit". I tried four or five times without success, but on roughly the sixth try the correct settings options appeared.
2) On both the compiled version and the script, occasionally it takes more than one try to activate the Global Shortcuts menu, especially right after startup.
Neither of these things is critical, for me anyway, and the program is looking good. Good work!
Regards,
burque505
robodesign
Posts: 365
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

19 Feb 2018, 17:59

Hello, burque505!

Thank you very much for your feedback!

1. I'll investigate that. It might be because it was initializing longer.... The language file, perhaps.

2. Yes, I am aware of this....

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
tmplinshi
Posts: 1242
Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 14:57

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

28 Feb 2018, 10:52

SashaChernykh wrote:
tmplinshi wrote:v2.21 (2017-02-24) - Fixed LWin/RWin not poping up start menu

:arrow: Source


@tmplinshi, do you plain to maintain your Keypress OSD version in future (at least fix possible bugs)?

For example, unfortunately, in @robodesign version impossible display keys in relative position, and I still use your Keypress OSD.

Thanks.

Well, I am not sure. But let me know what thoughts you have and I might will try them out.

@robodesign Impressive work!
robodesign
Posts: 365
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

01 Mar 2018, 16:11

Hello, guys!
@tmplinshi: thank you! My apologies if you feel I hijacked the thread with my edition. I did not expect or planned initially that I get sooooo far with this project.

I haven't posted for quite some time. I've been working hard on improving keyboard
layout detection and fix various issues, and prepare the first good-to-go binaries/compiled edition of this script, together with Drugwash. Many thanks to him!

Here's the new release:

On GitHub: https://github.com/marius-sucan/KeyPress-OSD

Main AHK file:
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... ss-osd.ahk

ZIP Package compiled [x64 / x32]
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... mpiled.zip

v4.22 (2018-03-01)
- [new] the user can now set the sound volume for beeps on key presses - MANY thanks to drugwash for his help!
- [new] added a few more distinctive sounds for page up/down, home/end, arrow keys, clicks and so on
- [new] option to generate visual sound event for Windows Accessibility - to flicker the title bar, window or screen [as the user desires]

v4.21 (2018-02-27)
- [new] quick start settings presets; the user can choose between several configuration presets: screen casts, typing mode and so on
- various bug fixes

v4.20.7 (2018-02-26)
- [new] at Installed KBD layouts, when you double click on a layout, the system layout will change to the selected one
- [new] it indicates language code according to ISO-639

v4.20.6.5 (2018-02-24)
- again, much improved IMEs detection [these are unsupported layouts]
- and other bug fixes

v4.20.6.3 (2018-02-22)
- [new] run in admin mode option.... useful when the user wants KeyPress to work with other elevated processes
- better compiled edition [by drugwash - many thanks]
- minor bug fixes

All files updated.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
tmplinshi
Posts: 1242
Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 14:57

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

01 Mar 2018, 19:52

robodesign wrote:@tmplinshi: thank you! My apologies if you feel I hijacked the thread with my edition. I did not expect or planned initially that I get sooooo far with this project.

No worries, I don't mind. Although I have unsubscribed to this thread long ago, as there are too many notifications :D
robodesign
Posts: 365
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

04 Mar 2018, 15:51

Hello, guys!

I managed to release a new version.
On GitHub: https://github.com/marius-sucan/KeyPress-OSD

Main AHK file:
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... ss-osd.ahk

ZIP Package compiled [x64 / x32]
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... mpiled.zip

Change log:
v4.22.5 (2018-03-04)
- [new] the ability to automatically expand words, acronyms, abbreviations, such as, but not limited to by the way [btw], do not disturb [dnd], and others. The user can add/remove/edit the list of automatically expanded words at Main Menu > Typing mode > Text expand. Many thanks to phaleth for the help offered with this.

v4.22.1 (2018-03-02)
- dropped the support for beeps on key presses without WAV files present
- various bug fixes and improvements under the hood

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
guest3456
Posts: 2392
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 10:31

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

05 Mar 2018, 10:32

nice to see you finally put this on git. but its better to keep the individual commits small and concise with one change per commit. you are doing massive changes to the file in one whole commit, and then just putting in the commit msg "many bug fixes". this makes it hard for other users to see what exactly has changed. this also makes it harder for you and more likely that you have to re-do work if you break something while coding. try using different branches for each bug, and then commit each bugfix separately.

robodesign
Posts: 365
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

05 Mar 2018, 17:01

Hello, guest!

Thank you for your feedback and observations.

Indeed, the commits are "massive", while the commit messages are rather too short.. The reason why this is so, is because I am not working directly on the github folder on my computer. However, I am trying to be detailed in the change log file.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
robodesign
Posts: 365
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

06 Mar 2018, 12:37

Hello, guys!

I have a new version:

On GitHub: https://github.com/marius-sucan/KeyPress-OSD

Main AHK file:
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... ss-osd.ahk

ZIP Package compiled [x64 / x32]
http://marius.sucan.ro/media/files/blog ... mpiled.zip

Change log:
v4.23 (2018-03-06)
- [new] multi-clipboard support; with WinKey + V, previous clipboard contents can be restored; it preserves html and text formatting; from this menu, you can also restore previously written lines in the OSD
- [improvement] the global shortcuts panel is now able to detect identic keyboard shortcuts
- bug fixes related to text expand feature

@burque505: Please test this new version. Please let me know if you find any bugs.

Best regards, Marius.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
burque505
Posts: 545
Joined: 22 Jan 2017, 19:37

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

06 Mar 2018, 13:48

After updating, my Windows session crashed immediately. When I started a new session, AHK 64-bit crashed.
Regards,
burque505
robodesign
Posts: 365
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

06 Mar 2018, 14:43

OMG. Which AHK_H version? What was the previous version you had? Do you run the compiled edition or the .ahk?

Please keep in mind, it works only with AHK_H v1.1.27.06. With 1.1.28, it crashes.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
burque505
Posts: 545
Joined: 22 Jan 2017, 19:37

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

06 Mar 2018, 15:23

Hi Marius, I've been running 1.1.27.07 for some time now. It crashed with that, although previous versions have run fine with 1.1.27.07. I'll try the compiled version.
Edit: I downloaded the github version, both run fine (compiled and script). What ever problem I had was from an update, apparently, and unfortunately I don't know what version I updated from (I know it was one from late January or early February, though).
I doubt very many people (if, in fact, anybody but me) will have trouble with it, and if they do I would just ask that they download the new version and don't use any update that crashes :D
Regards,
burque505
robodesign
Posts: 365
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

06 Mar 2018, 15:44

Okay, thank you for the update.

I booted my old Win 7 x64 system and the 32 bit edition of the script crashes. I found the culprit. Now, I am asking Drugwash to help me with it.

We should have a fix for it soon.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
User avatar
Drugwash
Posts: 567
Joined: 29 May 2014, 21:07
Location: Ploieşti, Romania

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

06 Mar 2018, 17:21

It's best to always back up current files (main script AND additional files too) before updating because there may be changes in either one that break the script if unmatched.
There is a hidden setting (BackupOldFiles=1) in the ini file that allows automatic backup on each update.

I think the script should be distributed complete with additional files, as an archive, to avoid such mismatches.
I've deleted my CloudMe account because of GDPR - the now legal base for privacy invasion and data theft.
robodesign
Posts: 365
Joined: 30 Sep 2017, 03:59
Facebook: marius.sucan
GitHub: mariussucan
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

06 Mar 2018, 18:10

The "compiled" zip file contains all the required files. It includes the source files and ahkH.
-------------------------
KeyPress OSD v4: GitHub or forum. (presentation video)
My home page.
User avatar
Drugwash
Posts: 567
Joined: 29 May 2014, 21:07
Location: Ploieşti, Romania

Re: [Script] KeypressOSD - Display key press on screen

07 Mar 2018, 03:21

It's not fair to ask users on metered connections to download a few MB only to get to the ~150kB of sources even when they're not interested in the compiled versions.

Besides, visitors with programming skills who see the links would most likely download the main script only and if they already have old versions of the additional files it's possible that at some point there will be mismatches. Especially after yesterday's changes on my side.

I believe there should be a flag in the main script that forces the download and install of the additional pack when there have been major changes to either one, and in such cases the backup option should be forced to on (in the uncompiled version) to avoid any loss on users' side if they made any changes to those files locally.

Which reminds me I should add the settings INI to the backup list because there have been changes to that part as well.
I've deleted my CloudMe account because of GDPR - the now legal base for privacy invasion and data theft.

Return to “Scripts and Functions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests