Script not running on WIndows NT - Compatability issue?

Get help with using AutoHotkey and its commands and hotkeys
mattkingston
Posts: 7
Joined: 14 Oct 2016, 13:17

Script not running on WIndows NT - Compatability issue?

17 May 2018, 14:43

Just asking if anyone has had any issues running AHK scripts on window NT4.

I have compiled several scripts in ANSI and UNI and neither will run on my NT4 system.
I get the "this is not a valid windows nt application" error.

Any help is much appreciated; this is driving me crazy, I just cant figure it out...
NT has latest SP and otherwise up to date.

I realise NT is old but it's for a PC running an old device which will not work on anything later so I really need to get my script to work with NT - no choice.

Thanks in advance!
User avatar
jeeswg
Posts: 4284
Joined: 19 Dec 2016, 01:58
Location: UK

Re: Script not running on WIndows NT - Compatability issue?

17 May 2018, 15:04

- Try running a 'hello world' script using AutoHotkey Basic on Windows NT 4. Then try compiling a 'hello world' script using the AutoHotkey Basic compiler and running it on Windows NT 4.
- If that works, then try running your script using AutoHotkey Basic on your newer OS (making any edits if necessary). Some of the newer commands/functions won't be available, although it should be possible to recreate most/all of that functionality with custom functions.
- If you can get the script to work with AutoHotkey Basic on your newer OS, you could then try running the script/compiled script on Windows NT 4.
- AutoHotkey Basic is ANSI only, although it should be possible to use Unicode by replacing commands/functions with custom functions that can handle UTF-16/UTF-8 text.

- Links:
[AutoHotkey104805 was the final release of AutoHotkey Basic]
Index of /download/1.0
https://autohotkey.com/download/1.0/
StrPut / StrGet - Scripts and Functions - AutoHotkey Community
https://autohotkey.com/board/topic/55299-strput-strget/
Unicode functions for AutoHotkey Basic / AutoHotkey x32 ANSI - AutoHotkey Community
https://autohotkey.com/boards/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=32487
AutoHotkey via DllCall: AutoHotkey functions as custom functions - AutoHotkey Community
https://autohotkey.com/boards/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=37871
Last edited by jeeswg on 18 May 2018, 07:32, edited 1 time in total.
lexikos
Posts: 5896
Joined: 30 Sep 2013, 04:07
GitHub: Lexikos

Re: Script not running on WIndows NT - Compatability issue?

18 May 2018, 03:38

I use Visual C++ 2010 to compile AutoHotkey 32-bit. Visual C++ 2010 does not support NT4. I have a "dirty hack" in place to allow it to run on Windows 2000, but I have never had an NT4 system or VM to test on (or any interest in supporting that OS).

AutoHotkey Basic (i.e. v1.0.48.05 and earlier) should work.
mattkingston
Posts: 7
Joined: 14 Oct 2016, 13:17

Re: Script not running on WIndows NT - Compatability issue?

18 May 2018, 08:29

Thanks guys,

This seems to have worked, iv tried a couple of basic scripts and ill see how much more of my scipts i can migrate into NT.
The solution seems quite simple now in hindsight so many many thanks for it.

Matt.

Return to “Ask For Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Gibbons, prosayist and 56 guests