Google is blocking autohotkey.com

Discussion about the AutoHotkey Foundation and this website
Guest

Re: Google is blocking autohotkey.com

16 Aug 2018, 05:27

Two suggestions:

First

The download link (a href code) is https://autohotkey.com/download/ahk-install.exe but when you click it you are actually presented with AutoHotkey_1.1.29.01_setup.exe (or latest version exe)
I would change this to the actual filename of the exe (yes that does mean updating the page each time for a new release)

This makes it look "less tricky".

Second

Add a note where the user can find the installer on GitHub. Currently there is one Note. Why not make it two notes like so:

Note 1: The installer also includes an "extract to" function to extract all files without installing. This can be accessed from the installer GUI or on the command line.

Note 2: Your browser or Antivirus software may block the download(s) from this page. This will most likely be a false positive. An alternative download location for the installer is available on official AutoHotkey GitHub page here https://github.com/Lexikos/AutoHotkey_L/releases (look for the AutoHotkey_1.[version number]_setup.exe). When in doubt you can submit the download link(s) to virustotal.com
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 6688
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Facebook: J0EDF
Google: +joedf
GitHub: joedf
Location: Canada, Quebec
Contact:

Re: Google is blocking autohotkey.com

17 Aug 2018, 07:48

Wow... this is straight up abuse...
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500 @ 3.00 GHz, 16GB DDR4 3200 MHz, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB | [About Me] | [ASPDM - StdLib Distribution]
[Populate the AHK MiniCity!] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library] | [About the AHK Foundation]
Andy-A
Posts: 1
Joined: 09 Oct 2018, 08:37

Re: Google is blocking autohotkey.com

09 Oct 2018, 15:06

I am able to download AutoHotKey 1.1. without and problems using Google Chrome. I thought new visitors to this forum and this thread might want to know that.

Many thanks to all of you who have worked on this issue!
User avatar
Xtra
Posts: 1269
Joined: 02 Oct 2015, 12:15

Re: Google is blocking autohotkey.com

09 Oct 2018, 17:10

https://autohotkey.com/download/
Works just fine why are you linking to 1.0? :facepalm:
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 6688
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Facebook: J0EDF
Google: +joedf
GitHub: joedf
Location: Canada, Quebec
Contact:

Re: Google is blocking autohotkey.com

10 Oct 2018, 09:01

what do you mean? the main download is the latest version 1.1+
We do have a link lower to v1.0... ?
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500 @ 3.00 GHz, 16GB DDR4 3200 MHz, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB | [About Me] | [ASPDM - StdLib Distribution]
[Populate the AHK MiniCity!] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library] | [About the AHK Foundation]
User avatar
Xtra
Posts: 1269
Joined: 02 Oct 2015, 12:15

Re: Google is blocking autohotkey.com

10 Oct 2018, 11:03

@joe one of the OP's post is to 1.0...
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 6688
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Facebook: J0EDF
Google: +joedf
GitHub: joedf
Location: Canada, Quebec
Contact:

Re: Google is blocking autohotkey.com

10 Oct 2018, 22:07

Oh yeah no, its that v1.0 in particular is having issues. If I click it, I get "The site ahead may contain harmful programs". for the normal downloads, it works just fine.
We now have a notice on the download page linking to this https://autohotkey.com/download/safe.htm
Who ever made it, nice job btw :+1: just a small issue, the uninstall link https://autohotkey.com/download/uninstall should be https://autohotkey.com/uninstall
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500 @ 3.00 GHz, 16GB DDR4 3200 MHz, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB | [About Me] | [ASPDM - StdLib Distribution]
[Populate the AHK MiniCity!] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library] | [About the AHK Foundation]
SOTE
Posts: 219
Joined: 15 Jun 2015, 06:21

Re: Google is blocking autohotkey.com

11 Oct 2018, 22:55

I would like to add that the web browser Firefox is also affected, in addition to Chrome, so will also give false positive warnings about both various versions of AutoHotkey_L and AutoHotkey_H. This includes issuing virus warnings about versions downloaded from GitHub, where the source code is available. Just plain ridiculous. Mozilla is getting information supplied by Google.
Firefox uses Google's blacklist to warn you about "Reported attack sites."
Designating files downloaded from GitHub (with source code), as "malicious" or "malware", makes it difficult on the creators. A person's account on GitHub, isn't the same as a website, so the process they have to go through to get removed off any blacklists is different.

This behavior by Google, where it does not properly verify the validity of it's blacklists, is arguably very unprofessional and reckless. This does a disservice to users, programmers, websites, and GitHub that hosts many applications with easy to inspect and investigate source code. In addition to the Google Safe Browsing process being flawed, one starts to wonder if there is any internal company bias or hidden business agendas for programming languages. The files that Firefox is warning are malicious, via use of Google Safe Browsing Blacklists, come up clean on nearly all virus scanners. So HOW or WHO made the decision to mark various AutoHotkey files as "malicious"? This is an extremely odd disconnect.

The warning message in Firefox looks like the below, just so people can be more aware of this false positive issue and what it looks like. The user can choose to ignore this warning and open the file, though it is likely to scare a lot of people.
Image


You can report false positives, errors, and mistakes made by Google and Firefox with the below links:

https://safebrowsing.google.com/safebro ... illa&hl=en
(can be used for more than reporting false phishing, but false positive and website warning errors)
Image

https://www.stopbadware.org/request-review
(request independent review from Google or StopBadware)
Image

You can also use Google Feedback to report mistakes and errors.
Image
Image
Last edited by SOTE on 03 Nov 2018, 05:01, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 6688
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Facebook: J0EDF
Google: +joedf
GitHub: joedf
Location: Canada, Quebec
Contact:

Re: Google is blocking autohotkey.com

15 Oct 2018, 10:47

... :/
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500 @ 3.00 GHz, 16GB DDR4 3200 MHz, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB | [About Me] | [ASPDM - StdLib Distribution]
[Populate the AHK MiniCity!] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library] | [About the AHK Foundation]
Finaros
Posts: 1
Joined: 21 Oct 2018, 06:46

Re: Google is blocking autohotkey.com

21 Oct 2018, 06:54

Hi, I will not put your program for several reasons!
1. The script can not be compiled in Linux
2. To compile V2 you need an exe file! (no one knows what's in it!)
3. I trust Google!

Sorry, but I would not recommend to put your program on your computer.
User avatar
joedf
Posts: 6688
Joined: 29 Sep 2013, 17:08
Facebook: J0EDF
Google: +joedf
GitHub: joedf
Location: Canada, Quebec
Contact:

Re: Google is blocking autohotkey.com

21 Oct 2018, 09:25

1. Made specifically for windows. Mac and Linux (have their own version, Automator and AutoKey)
2. The source is readily available AHK binary source: https://github.com/Lexikos/AutoHotkey_L compiler source: https://github.com/fincs/Ahk2Exe You can build completely from source, no binary required.
3. Google spies and profits on everyone's private information and habits.
Image Image Image Image Image
Windows 10 x64 Professional, Intel i5-8500 @ 3.00 GHz, 16GB DDR4 3200 MHz, NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB | [About Me] | [ASPDM - StdLib Distribution]
[Populate the AHK MiniCity!] | [Qonsole - Quake-like console emulator] | [LibCon - Autohotkey Console Library] | [About the AHK Foundation]
SOTE
Posts: 219
Joined: 15 Jun 2015, 06:21

Re: Google is blocking autohotkey.com

21 Oct 2018, 12:42

Finaros wrote:
21 Oct 2018, 06:54
Hi, I will not put your program for several reasons!
1. The script can not be compiled in Linux
2. To compile V2 you need an exe file! (no one knows what's in it!)
3. I trust Google!

Sorry, but I would not recommend to put your program on your computer.
In addition to what Joedf said...

1A. Most Windows based programs can't be compiled in Linux.
1B. Ability to be compiled in Linux is not reason to incorrectly mislabel and misidentify a scripting/programming language.
2A. Most Windows programs exist in .exe form. This by itself is not reason to mislabel or misidentify
2B. The source code of the AutoHotkey "compiler", Ahk2Exe is located here- https://github.com/fincs/Ahk2Exe for all to inspect
3. A person's trust in Google does not mean they are perfect or don't make mistakes.

Return to “About This Community”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests